Mayor & Council

About Town Council


Foam Lake Town Council consists of a Mayor and six Councillors who represent the Town as a whole. The current Council was elected by acclamation on November 9, 2020 for a term of four years.

Mayor:

  • Shelley Thoen-Chaykoski, shelley@foamlake.com

Councillors:

  • Graham Farrell (Deputy Mayor), graham@foamlake.com
  • Nevin Halyk, nevin@foamlake.com
  • Tyler Bugera, tyler@foamlake.com
  • Karyelen Oshynko, karyelen@foamlake.com
  • Gloria Bastien, gloria@foamlake.com
  • Shanna Loeppky, shanna@foamlake.com

Council is responsible for establishing corporate policy and setting strategic priorities. The
Province of Saskatchewan, through legislation, sets out the powers of municipal governments
through the Municipalities Act.

  • To consider the welfare and interests of the municipality as a whole and to bring to Council’s
    attention anything that would promote the welfare and interests of the municipality
  • To participate in developing and evaluating the policies and programs of the municipality
  • To participate in Council meetings, Council committee meetings and meetings of other bodies
    to which they are appointed by Council
  • To obtain information about the operation and administration of the municipality
  • To keep in confidence matters discussed in private at a Council or Council committee meeting
    until discussed at a meeting held in public
  • To perform any other duty or function imposed on Councillors by the Municipalities Act or by the Council