Mayor & Council

About Town Council

Foam Lake Town Council consists of a Mayor and six Councillors. The Mayor and Council represent the Town as a whole as Foam Lake is not divided into wards. The current Council was elected on October 26, 2016 for a term of four years, and Shelley Thoen-Chaykoski was elected in the October 2019 By-Election for a one year term.

Mayor: Lorne Hrehor


  1. Graham Farrell (Deputy Mayor)
  2. Nevin Halyk
  3. Len Kowalchuk
  4. Julie Pendlebury
  5. Gloria Bastien
  6. Shelley Thoen-Chaykoski

Council is responsible for establishing corporate policy and setting strategic priorities. The
Province of Saskatchewan, through legislation, sets out the powers of municipal governments
through the Municipalities Act.

  • To consider the welfare and interests of the municipality as a whole and to bring to Council’s
    attention anything that would promote the welfare and interests of the municipality
  • To participate in developing and evaluating the policies and programs of the municipality
  • To participate in Council meetings, Council committee meetings and meetings of other bodies
    to which they are appointed by Council
  • To obtain information about the operation and administration of the municipality
  • To keep in confidence matters discussed in private at a Council or Council committee meeting
    until discussed at a meeting held in public
  • To perform any other duty or function imposed on Councillors by the Municipalities Act or by the Council